Friends Club

Hello. If you're reading this text, you purchased the Friends Club license, which is kind of a big deal for me. Thank you!

 

Apart from other spoken and unspoken benefits of being in the club, you will be able to use a few hidden features. For various reasons, I don't want to advertise or open them to the general public, and I provide no guarantee that they will work or that they won't go away in the future. However, if you find anything interesting in the list below, you're welcome to give it a try.

 

UI features

Terminal Commands

Most of the hidden features are available only through the terminal command. You will need to restart the app after applying any of those commands!

 

To make Shottr save every image as JPEG

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr saveFormat JPEG

 

To change the default filename format

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr fileNameTemplate 'Screenshot %Y-%m-%d at %I.%M.%S %p'

 

Macros %Y, %y, %m, %b, %B, %d, %j, %A, %a, %W, %H, %I, %p, %M, %S are described here: https://man7.org/linux/man-pages/man3/strftime.3.html

%Q — quarter number

%t — four letter timecode (time of day with 0.25s increment, convenient for sorting)

%n — the name of the captured (or frontmost) app

 

To show every tool in the toolbar, if the space allows

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr growingToolbar 1

 

To hide the dock icon

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr showDockIcon 2009463689

 

To use a custom typeface in text annotations

(replace Noteworthy Bold with any font installed on your computer):

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr typeface 'Noteworthy Bold'

 

To use a custom screenshot uploading endpoint

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr uploadEndpoint 'https://mysite.com/endpoint'

 

(the image will be passed as a FormData named "file"; the expected response is a plain text "SUCCESS: https://imageurl.com/image.png" or "ERR: Error Description")

 

Overwrite file when saving the same screenshot multiple times

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr autosaveOverwrite 1

When the same screenshot is saved multiple times through Cmd+S, toolbar Save button, menu item Save, automatically with “After Grab” setting, or automatically with “Action … with Esc”, the file will be overwritten instead of being saved with “-2” suffix. However, if a screenshot hasn't been saved yet and there’s already a file with the same name, it will still get a suffix (-2, -3, etc.). Overwriting only happens if the same screenshot was saved before with that exact name. It’s useful if you have auto-save, and want to occasionally save edited versions, but don’t want to have duplicates.

 

Include or don’t include cursor on the fullscreen screenshots

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr captureCursor include

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr captureCursor exclude

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr captureCursor auto

When it is set to “include”, the cursor will always be present on the fullscreen capture. When “exclude”, the cursor should never show up on the fullscreen screenshots. It’s better to keep it in “auto” though, unless you really need a specific behavior.

 

Instruments order on the toolbar

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr toolbarOrder "oval, arrow, text, ruler, rectangle, backdrop, freehand, magnifier, append, blur, highlighter, spotlight, counter, line, image"

(The order of tools in the command could be changed)

To reset to defaults, run this command:

 

Hide export toolbar buttons

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr showExportCopy 0

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr showExportSave 0

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr showExportPin 0

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr showExportUpload 0

 

Force printing orientation

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr printOrientation portrait — always portrait

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr printOrientation landscape — always landscape

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr printOrientation auto — best fit

 

Enabling custom Area Capture that freezes the screen

Open the browser, enter the command and hit Enter. shottr://settings/areaCustomGrabber/enable — to enable

shottr://settings/areaCustomGrabber/disable — to disable

 

If you enable screen freezing, it will respect the cursor capturing setting (see above.)

 

To reset those settings

defaults delete cc.ffitch.shottr fileNameTemplate

defaults delete cc.ffitch.shottr growingToolbar

defaults delete cc.ffitch.shottr showMenubarIcon

defaults delete cc.ffitch.shottr showIntro

defaults delete cc.ffitch.shottr showDockIcon

defaults delete cc.ffitch.shottr typeface

defaults delete cc.ffitch.shottr uploadEndpoint

defaults delete cc.ffitch.shottr autosaveOverwrite

defaults write cc.ffitch.shottr captureCursor auto

defaults delete cc.ffitch.shottr showExportCopy

defaults delete cc.ffitch.shottr showExportSave

defaults delete cc.ffitch.shottr showExportPin

defaults delete cc.ffitch.shottr showExportUpload

defaults delete cc.ffitch.shottr toolbarOrder